I have eclectic taste in music that never fails to show itself when I’m running sound at the church I attend. I’m always looking for something different to grab people’s attention and prepare them for praise before the worship team takes over. Thanks to Spotify, I have more songs that I can ever possibly listen to to choose from. If you looked up a song like “Amazing Grace”, you’d find a plethora of variations of just that one song. That’s how I came across Christafari. I was looking for a version of “10,000 Reasons” that I thought was refreshing and exciting.

Reggae worship music?! I couldn’t believe my ears. Not only was it something drastically different from anything I’ve heard in the world of Christian music, but it was actually good. I played the song just to get people excited about hearing the gospel and planned to move on, but I was approached by several people in the congregation for more. Before and after the service that Sunday, I played nothing but Christafari. People sang, people danced, and people had fun in their worship. I was elated!

The initial appeal of them were their renditions of popular Christian songs like “Oceans“, “Revelation Song“, “How Great Thou Art” and even more. Their Anthems album is amazing. It’s a beautiful fusion of hymns, reggae, ska, and soul. They dabble in a little dub too for the dance hall kids. What they do is just what I was looking for to both entertain and evoke a sense of the joy in Christ in the congregation. It worked.

Upon doing a little digging on this group, I found that they’re about much more than doing reggae remixes.

“Christafari is a Christian reggae band formed in 1990. It is centered on the personality of ordained religious minister Mark “Tansoback” Mohr (born October 23, 1971), an American, born-again Christian. Until the age of 17, Mohr was a Rastafarian. The essential goal of Christafari is to promote Christianity to all people; including Rastafarians.

Initially Christafari’s lyrics were characterized by a heart for Rastafarians, a passion for reaching the drug-afflicted counter-culture and a distinctly evangelical Christian message. Two examples are the songs “Why You A-go Look?” (WordSound&Power) and “Teachings of His Majesty” (Reggae Redemption Songs II), which use the words of Haile Selassie I (former Emperor of Ethiopia) to challenge the veneration of this Christian king as Almighty God incarnate.” – Via Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

